Interview with an artist:

Mischa Epstien Alvarado

How did you become an artist?
I actually was taking some time off to stay at home and started cutting paper and here I am. My first piece was Moon Grazing.

Did your family encourage you?
My family has always been behind me 100% between my Wife , Parents and Siblings I always have someone helping me at a show or event. It always feels like I have an entourage. It’s a great experience to be so supported.

Where did you grow up?
I grew up in Springfield, MA. When I was younger I spent alot of time at the Quadrangle. They had the library and a lot of museums and it was alot of fun. By the time I was 12 I was an assistant camp counselor. It was the most fun I ever had working at any camp.

Do you have any siblings?
Yes, three. I have an older Brother who is 39 named David, an older sister who is 34 named Audra and a younger brother who is 19 named Max. My older brother has two children who both commissioned Original pieces of artwork for their birthdays this year.

What is a collage?
For me a collage is a piece of artwork made of many pieces. No matter if the pieces are string or news paper clippings or bright paper.

Describe how a piece comes together for you?
For me a piece comes from many places. I did one piece that was inspired by the neon lights outside of A to Z in Northampton. It was this really cool image of a green frog catching a bug with its tongue.

Have you ever made paper?
I’m just starting to get into making paper. It’s quite a process!

What was your favorite subject in school?
To be honest I loved writing and literature. I never thought I would be a visual artist. My plan was to be a director.

Is there an artist who really inspires you?
I don’t think one artist in particular inspired me I think pieces of artwork do.

What is your favorite picture book?
My favorite picture book of all time is called On The Day You Were Born. It’s about the whole world rejoicing about new life.

What is you favorite color?
Wow! That’s a hard question. I don’t think I have one. There are combinations of colors that I really like. I love hot pink with bright orange and lime green.

Tell us about your favorite piece you have made?
My favorite piece is called When Ships Pass In The Night. It’s actually sold really well. It’s ships passing in front of mountains. It was inspired by when my wife and I both worked during Christmas and we worked completely opposite times of the day. That’s the piece that matters most to me and I think that’s why people love it so much.

“When other artists see a tube of red paint they see a fire truck,
When I see a piece of red paper, I see that same fire truck.”
Mischa Epstein Alvarado

Published in: on September 3, 2007 at 1:36 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://studiocam.wordpress.com/2007/09/03/interview-with-an-artist/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

